• Global Moderator
  • Executive Chef
  • Guest Chef

• Today at 01:40:26
    • Terra Firma
  • more
Piano Tuning
on: May 20, 2018, 01:29:12
That's right......not only do I cut my own hair but I also tune my own piano.  8)

My method is a bit different from the standard method. I've been tuning my stringed instruments for over 50 years....and the piano ......has strings. So I get out my handy dandy tuner and pluck each string until it's right. I read everything about how wrong this is, but after today's session....I am smiling as I play.

"The main thing is to have a gutsy approach....but use your head." Julia Child

"In a world of robotic conformity, the only originality left in music is the imperfections" Eric Craptone

"Special thanks to Steve Gleason for making me who I am today." Leonard Scaper

Lenny's Tunes: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_music.cfm?bandID=540680

https://soundcloud.com/vincentgleason

Re: Piano Tuning
Reply #1 on: May 20, 2018, 02:00:15
That's right......not only do I cut my own hair but I also tune my own piano.  8)

My method is a bit different from the standard method. I've been tuning my stringed instruments for over 50 years....and the piano ......has strings. So I get out my handy dandy tuner and pluck each string until it's right. I read everything about how wrong this is, but after today's session....I am smiling as I play.

Well, having tuned many strings on my harp many times... and tuned concert harps (with a LOT more strings than my little harp but fewer than a piano), your approach seems completely logical...

Having said that, I would NEVER EVER EVER tackle tuning my own acoustic piano... so although you are smiling, I am compelled to call you a lunatic !!! But if your piano is in tune and you did it yourself, then I guess I have no real reason to say that... And what I should be saying is - Bravo! Well done! and the rest..

K

• Mar T.
  • Senior Site Administrator
  • Michelin Starred Chef