• Junior Cook
  • Karma Hunter

• May 19, 2018, 08:44:51
    • Yorkshire
  • more
Hello everybody :-)
on: April 25, 2018, 10:02:20
Hello everyone here in the kitchen !

I am a newby here on the forum ..although I think I'm  familiar with a few faces from Soundcloud already.  :)

I have been writing music from the age of 5 when I was given a piano by one of my Father's friends..I absolutely fell in love with music from that day on. I am mainly self taught . I received some lessons as a child but due to an inability to comprehend written score and being a stubborn, self willed little so and so (wanting to compose my own songs )..I didn't make much progress .  :( .. And my  kindly and very forgiving teacher smoked like an absolute trooper in that tiny room my lessons were conducted in ( probably as a consequence of my lack of direction ! ) I never practised the music he gave me so probably not a good introduction to music ..cough cough ! Although I managed to fake  the ability to read music up to grade 3 , I struggled thereafter and gave up lessons  .. :-(

I work now with Ableton and a keyboard ..virtual instruments and a few samples scattered in the mix.. (Always drums as I'm hopeless with those !) I sing too ..but I am very much a virtual studio singer ..I would be awful at live singing due to an introverted disposition. I think my voice is weak , it has good and bad days . I would describe my style as scratty round the edges - probably all heart and not much substance . I hate focusing on minute detail.. but it's probably that skill am most in need of .

Time is my biggest issue nowadays , I have a family and job and seem to crash about 9pm lately ! School holidays are probably the best time for writing these days ! 

I am very happy to be here on the forum and am looking forward to learning more about songwriting ..and maybe offer  a humble opinion or two  ( only if requested of course ) ..great to be a part of this !

Emmazen  :)