• The journey from Playing for fun/practice to paid gig/exposer
  • Started by Travelling Souls
Hi, i'm new here, so i'm just going to dive right in with what I am going through right now.
My album is due to be released this August, it includes 6 years of work, writing, practicing, recording endless demos, studying, going to open mics to "test" the songs live, choosing from over 100 songs the best ones, then investing in studio and physical production of the cd's. All this work and money invested, yet I still question myself when it comes to ask for money for my craft.   
Last night my band and I played a free gig in a London restaurant, the promoter didn't even advertise, no welcome at the door, inexperienced sound man. with travel and having to pay for our food (the drinks where free but i'm a professional and don't drink when I work) the time spent all this means I need to pay to play. The gig went well, it was fun and I tend to make the most out of any situation maybe a new fan or two, a live situation is good practice and it made me happy and confident. but mostly it made me think that I should get paid for my work.
The change is in my hands and in my mind. I need to make music a viable life choice to keep going. 
wish me luck.
would love to hear your thoughts on this matter, tips, advice, ect. 
www.travellingsouls.co.uk

• LePlongeur
  • Sous Chef
  • In Tartiflette we trust

• Today at 03:58:49
    • Greater Amsterdam
  • more
Hi Tamar
Itís true, we need to change our heads. Our ideas about all this.
And I think we should take a 180 degrees turn in this.

My dentist and I get along fine. Het expects to get paid (by me) for all his know how.
When there is a special reason, I donít have to pay.
But the default is simple: the minute I open my mouth, I pay.

I hope I get this across the stage lighting, because the language gets in the way now and then.

The normal situation is that you get paid, unless a friend gets married.