Songwriters in the Kitchen!

Board index => The kitchen café => Topic started by: DonMar on May 14, 2019, 08:26:00

Title: Melody creation: avoiding 'avoid' notes
Post by: DonMar on May 14, 2019, 08:26:00
I happened to come across this article a few minutes ago. Though I'm not a musician, I found it interesting. Do any of you composers here take 'avoid notes' into account?

https://blog.holistic-songwriting.com/2016/06/21/avoid-notes/

Donna
Title: Re: Melody creation: avoiding 'avoid' notes
Post by: Jambrains on May 14, 2019, 11:15:04
Not in the sense that I analyze melody vs chords but I guess most of us avoid them intuitively since a) they sound awful and b) as pointed out in the article, they are difficult to sing.
Post by: Leonard Scaper on May 14, 2019, 12:17:55
I guess most of us avoid them intuitively since a) they sound awful and b) as pointed out in the article, they are difficult to sing.

Yeah...I have never actually written a melody, per se. I do know what notes tend to sound bad together, though......well, sometimes I know.  ;)
Post by: oorlab on May 14, 2019, 12:33:11
Interesting subject @DonMar @Jambrains @Leonard Scaper I would translate : "Avoid notes" that “rub” against the harmony" - into intervals to avoid. Depends on the style too I guess. Doowop will have more avoid intetrvals than jazz.
Post by: MrBouzouki on May 17, 2019, 10:53:16
An interesting article @DonMar .

From my viewpoint it's all about the degree of dissonance that is acceptable to you the composer, songwriter, singer and as @oorlab said it's as much about genre as anything. but also culture.

Our Western ears are trained from a young age to find pleasure in certain forms, with a degree of exotic additions depending upon genre. Contrast that with music that is a result of different cultures or musical tradition than the European one where the sound of that music is completely alien to your brain.  It can just sound 'too wrong' for our sensibilities.