• New song "Love Spell" - questions about layering instruments?
  • Started by Kellyanneg
Hello...I hope you all are well.  I have attempted layering "instruments" with my keyboard, but I'm unsure about when or what parts to bring instruments in and out, like obviously we want the chorus stronger, but how bare should verses be? I think I have too much coming in too soon, parts seem empty, but is there any type of standard way?  Are there certain parts that are normally part of the structure of the sound? Like maybe strings for a "filler", a base obviously, an instrument to highlight parts etc, and when? This is a single drum sound on my keyboard I tapped on the whole way through  :lol: but I'm getting a feel for it!  And I can only do five tracks on my keyboard, but again, it's my first attempt, be gentle ha ha.

Love Spell

I'll keep whispering your name
stare into the dancing flame
swirling smoke begins to fade
magic on the way

Lilacs in the midnight air
can you feel the angel near?
whispering my name so clear
three times she will say

CHORUS
a little love spell
a little love spell
comin' through
a little love spell
a little love spell
back to you

Dancing in the morning sun
rock me like you've always done
in my dreams, you've carried on
yet I wake alone

You know all the words that sell
there's a secret I won't tell
floating in the wishing well
a song already sung

REPEAT CHORUS

traveling man with bottled dreams
close your eyes, come back  to me
I'll wait by the evergreen
with lilacs in my hair

REPEAT CHORUS

https://soundcloud.com/kellyannegsongs/lovespell3
Do what makes your heart sing :)

This music has a lot of strength
I think it's a good job  ::thumb::
Congratulations

• Mar T.
  • Senior Site Administrator
  • Michelin Starred Chef
  • Pay it forward! (watch that movie..)

• Yesterday at 15:10:28
    • Duiven