• Waste of Time - my first go at MIDI
  • Started by habiTat
Waste of Time - my first go at MIDI
on: January 14, 2014, 23:07:36
Hey everyone,

I've had some help from DB and I'm now finding my feet with Reaper and MIDI. Cheers Dutchy  ;D ;D ;D

This is my first attempt at a song, no acoustic guitar here, all fake instruments this time :)

I am not too great at playing keyboard and my choice of virtual instruments is very limited so I chose a deliberately slow, dreamy sounding approach..

The lyrics are inspired by the lady whom we were buying a house from, she just changed her mind and decided not to sell up after all, thanks lady  >:( >:( >:(

https://soundcloud.com/whitewinter-habitat/waste-of-time-midi-test

You wasted my time..
Not yours but mine.
What did you gain...
By causing me pain.
When you wasted my time?

Did you intend...
To delay and pretend.
To again put me out ...
And mess me about.
When you wasted my time?

All of my life
And all of my dreams
Hung on your words
Your unbalanced words...
As you wasted my time.

You wasted my time

By changing your mind...
For another time.
I'm quite unimpressed
Mildly depressed..
You wasted my time

Instrumental

I hope when you're old
You look back and see
The lies that you told
Got nothing achieved
You wasted your time

• jmacdon
  • Poissonier

• March 17, 2019, 00:41:53
    • Coventry, United Kingdom
  • more
Re: Waste of Time - my first go at MIDI
Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 23:39:18
Hi John

It's great to see you try something different - and I'm impressed !   The keybs are great because they add proportional value to the song without overwhelming it.  But, what does it for me is that the keybs seem to bring-out your vocals to a new level.  I can hear much more emotion in here and this really lifts the song and makes it much more personal and touching.   

I was actually expecting something Hi-NRG (but maybe that's the inverse style I'll bring !!) - but this is great.