• LePlongeur
  • Executive Chef
  • In Tartiflette we trust

• Yesterday at 17:08:54
    • Greater Amsterdam
  • more
Charles Bukowski's views on writing
on: February 20, 2020, 09:53:47

Charles Bukowski's views on writing are simple. And apart from all the crap about welcoming death and drinking, I underwrite his ideas about writing.
What I personally miss though, is the idea that it must provoke a reaction. If my writing goes by unnoticed, I think I have done something wrong. I don't really care if you are happy (yes, secretly I hope you are, right?) or if you are irritated..., as long as you feel something.

In that sense, my music - my lyrics are never suitable for work. You will never be able to yell at me when you are there.

I am very careful with alcohol and don't use any other things. I am an a-typical artist. Not one song or no lyrics were written while drinking my two glasses. Not for as long as I can remember.

So:
Yes to his ideas about the pacing and the idea that your words have something to say
No to his ideas about alcohol
I am curious what you think.
Kind regards, Gus

Re: Charles Bukowski's views on writing
Reply #1 on: February 20, 2020, 14:45:23
« Last Edit: February 20, 2020, 15:08:15 by Pleudoniem »
What I uderstand from Bukowski's writings is that he had the idea that showing was also a way of evoking a reaction. I think what he is showing us in the video is the principle of 'show, don't tell'. Although he wasn't quite averse to introspective quarrels and wonderings, Bukowski was a master in it, and there is a lot to say for it. So, there IS a reaction. He implicitly says this in the video, as each line must have 'juice'.

His reference to death and drinking is not surprising, I think, as he was nicknamed the court poet of the gutter. They are popular topics for gutter stories. He must have seen a lot of misery in his life.