• Pay it forward! (watch that movie..)

• Today at 02:20:03
    • Duiven
  • more
Mix/Production : Mid/Side
on: December 24, 2016, 02:17:18
« Last Edit: April 07, 2017, 04:32:17 by Mar T. »
Hi all,

I'm studying all kinds of material lately about recording. I believe recording your sound sources as well as possible is key to a natural (not overproduced) sound. And I like a natural sounding 'reproduction' of the recording.
As opposed to the stereo (left/right) recording, we can also use 'mid/side' recording. One 'mono' mic to record the central/mid/mono part of a take, and one figure 8 pickup pattern mic recording the 'sides'.
In the mix you can recreate the stereo image by
-Add one track with the mono recording (center panned)
-Add one track with the figure 8 mic and pan hard left
-Add one track with that same figure 8 mic recorded signal panned hard right AND inverted phase

In that way you can master the mono mix by only enabling the mono track (and treat it, also in context of the whole mix) AND you can master the stereo width (and treatment) of your mix ajusting the parameters of the two 'side' tracks (at the same time). What I like so much is that the side tracks 'cancel' each other out completely when played in mono. So you can put your entire vision of 'how' you want your mix to sound into one mix/master. It'll sound great on a mono (read: cell phone, tablet, bluetooth speaker, intercom etc.) system AND will sound fantastic on any stereo source (because the mono mix is in balance)..
I'm interested in your thoughts. Did you read about/hear from this method? What are your experiences?

:mart:

• Leonard Scaper
  • Global Moderator
  • Executive Chef
  • Guest Chef

• Yesterday at 22:34:12
    • Terra Firma
  • more
Re: Mid/Side - For the recorders/mixers/producers amongst us
Reply #1 on: December 24, 2016, 11:56:32